About Us



LESA (Legal Education Society of Alberta) has decades of experience providing top-notch continuing legal education and professional development for Alberta’s lawyers, articling students, and legal support staff. LESA delivers webinars, livestream programs, and in-person programs, as well as a variety of educational resources, including on-demand programs, papers, and publications. 

Supported by hundreds of loyal volunteers and dedicated professionals, we continue to develop innovative, future-focused education programs and resources to ensure that our continuing legal education offerings are second to none.

Have you heard about our all-new LESA Library? This online, comprehensive, and searchable resource provides valuable legal information to Alberta’s lawyers, articling students, and legal support staff. Click “LESA Library” at the top of your screen for details.


The composition of LESA’s Board of Directors reflects our roots in the legal education community. Membership is drawn from the Law Society of Alberta, the Canadian Bar Association (Alberta Branch), the Faculties of Law and Extension or Continuing Education at the Universities of Alberta and Calgary, the judiciary at all three levels of courts, and the profession at large. All of these organizations share a belief in the value of quality continuing professional development for the entire profession thereafter. To peruse the list of current and past Board members is to meet many of the outstanding leaders of the legal community in Alberta.

Board of Directors

Chair: Michelle Gallagher KC | Patriot Law Group
Vice-Chair: Paul M. Bourassa | Bourassa Law & Strategic Services
Treasurer: Walter Pavlic KC 
| MLT Aikins LLP
Past Chair: Jennifer Ruttan
 | Ruttan Bates
Thomas Bradley | Bucephalus Consulting
Evan Clarke | Kahane Law Office 
Sarah Dargatz 
| Latitude Family Law LLP
Rachel Hopf | MMH Lawyers LLP 
Dr. Cosette Lemelin | Centre for Teaching and Learning, University of Alberta
Gulu Punia | Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP
Dr. Kellinde WrightsonUniversity of Calgary, Faculty of Law  

Advisory Council Members

Hon. Justice R. Khullar | Court of Appeal Alberta
Hon. Justice S.D. Hillier | Court of King’s Bench of Alberta
Hon. Judge A.J. Brown | Provincial Court of Alberta
Prof. Catherine A. Brown | University of Calgary
Ted Feehan KC | Duncan Craig LLP
Kyle Kawanami | Emery Jamieson LLP
Prof. Anna Lund | University of Alberta

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top



Sign up to receive email notification of LESA programs and resources directly related to your practice.