Our Team

About Us



LESA (Legal Education Society of Alberta) has decades of experience providing top-notch continuing legal education and professional development for Alberta’s lawyers, articling students, and legal support staff. LESA delivers webinars, livestream programs, and in-person programs, as well as a variety of educational resources, including on-demand programs, papers, and publications. 

Supported by hundreds of loyal volunteers and dedicated professionals, we continue to develop innovative, future-focused education programs and resources to ensure that our continuing legal education offerings are second to none.

Have you heard about our all-new LESA Library? This online, comprehensive, and searchable resource provides valuable legal information to Alberta’s lawyers, articling students, and legal support staff. Click “LESA Library” at the top of your screen for details.


Thank you to our Board of Directors and Advisory Council members. We greatly appreciate your dedication of time as well as your wisdom, guidance, and support. To peruse the list of current and past members is to meet many of the outstanding leaders of the Alberta legal community.

Board of Directors

Chair: Michelle Gallagher KC | Patriot Law Group
Vice-Chair: Paul M. Bourassa | Bourassa Law & Strategic Services
Treasurer: Walter Pavlic KC 
| MLT Aikins LLP
Past Chair: Jennifer Ruttan
 | Ruttan Bates
Thomas Bradley | Bucephalus Consulting
Evan Clarke | Kahane Law Office 
Sarah Dargatz 
| Latitude Family Law LLP
Rachel Hopf | MMH Lawyers LLP 
Dr. Cosette Lemelin | Centre for Teaching and Learning, University of Alberta
Gulu Punia | Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP
Dr. Kellinde WrightsonUniversity of Calgary, Faculty of Law  

Advisory Council

Chief Justice R. Khullar | Court of Appeal Alberta
Justice S.D. Hillier | Court of King’s Bench of Alberta
Judge A.J. Brown | Provincial Court of Alberta
Prof. Catherine A. Brown | University of Calgary
Ted Feehan KC | Duncan Craig LLP (Appointed by the Law Society of Alberta)
Kyle Kawanami | Emery Jamieson LLP (Appointed by the Canadian Bar Association – Alberta Branch)
Prof. Anna Lund | University of Alberta

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top

About Us


Customer Support



Sign up to receive email notification of LESA programs and resources directly related to your practice.