A Warm Welcome to New Law Society of Alberta President and President-Elect

On February 23, 2023, the Law Society of Alberta announced that Bill Hendsbee KC, will begin his term as the 2023-2024 President and Deanna Steblyk KC, will begin her term as the 2023-2024 President-Elect.

 Bill is a partner at Cummings Andrew Mackay LLP. For nearly thirty years, he has practiced exclusively in plaintiff personal injury law. Bill has served as the President of the Edmonton Bar Association and as President of the Alberta Civil Trial Lawyers Association (ACTLA). He has volunteered for ACTLA and served as chair and faculty for past LESA programs.[1]

Deanna worked in private practice in the area of civil litigation for 10 years before accepting a position as litigation counsel for the Alberta Securities Commission. Deanna is committed to public service and has volunteered extensively in the legal community, including serving as past Chair of the Legal Aid Alberta Board of Directors and Past President of the Association of Women Lawyers.[2]

LESA wishes Bill and Deanna all the best during their tenure at the Law Society of Alberta.


[1] Board Directory, online: Law Society of Alberta [https://www.lawsociety.ab.ca/about-us/board-and-committees/board-directory/].

[2] Board Directory, online: Law Society of Alberta [https://www.lawsociety.ab.ca/about-us/board-and-committees/board-directory/].

Scroll to Top


Customer Support



Sign up to receive email notification of LESA programs and resources directly related to your practice.